Day 1 – Your Favorite Song

So, in lack of better things to blog about, I figured I’d slowly start doing this “30 Day Song Challenge” in order to well, fill out the blog with what might be a bit more interesting stuff than just me rambling.

So, Day 1 – Your Favorite Song.

This should come as no surprise to anyone reading my blog.

Don’t Be Afraid of Your Dreams by british popduo Go West. This song was featured on “A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master”, in the end credits. I had originally gotten the movie only because of Vinnie Vincent Invasions, rather short, appearance, and little did I know it would guide the way to the song that would be the closest to my heart.

What I love so much about this song is basically everything. I started listening to VVI when I was around 15-16, and this song, despite being written for a movie about a dream-demon, it’s still empowered me like hell. You can adapt the lyrics to pretty much any situation, and even still to this day I keep telling myself about everthing I’m doubting – “It’s mind over matter, whatever it takes” to make sure not to slow myself down with my negative thoughts.

I guess it’s a bit surprising to most people reading this, as most people know me as a “rocker”, if you like, and to see me choose a popsong as my favorite might be confusing. But this song just has it. Powerful choruses, vocals, compositions and most importantly… powerful lyrics that has since the day I first heard this song, been so important to me, in how I view myself, in how I think about things, in how I act about things.

It taught me not to be afraid of my dreams.

// Sara

EDIT: HAHAHAHA. I just noticed this is in the comments.

freddyhaha

Leave a Reply

